DIY & Decor

Gauzy Ghost DIY

I love an easy craft project, especially one that reminds me of my childhood. I’ve had the idea to make these gauzy ghosts floating around my head for some time, but I couldn’t think of what I needed to make them stand on their own, so I did what everyone does… I searched Pinterest for help. Starch. I needed starch. Thank you, The Idea Room! I also loved the little banner she used on hers, and her mason jar and balloon form was brilliant.

Here’s what you’ll need to gather to recreate the ghost I made:

  • supplies-needed-for-gauzy-ghostheavy spray starch (or you can use liquid)
  • gauze-like material (I found “Creepy Cloth” in the Halloween section.)
  • 2 pipe cleaners
  • 1 balloon
  • 1 sheet black construction paper
  • 1 sheet orange construction paper
  • orange kitchen twine
  • scissors
  • black marker
  • super glue
  • old cookie sheet

Note: I purchased the Creepy Cloth, starch, pipe cleaners, balloons, and kitchen twine at a dollar store. Everything else, I already had. I bought 2 packages of the Creepy Cloth, and I will be able to make several ghosts from that.

Instructions: form-for-gauzy-ghost-diy

  1. To make the form, partially wrap the pipe cleaners around the top of the mason jar, one on each side. Secure with tape or by screwing the ring of the jar over the pipe cleaners. Arrange and slightly bend the pipe cleaners to look like arms.
  2. Blow up a balloon, just big enough to nestle inside the top of the jar.
  3. Place the form on the cookie sheet. (I put paper towel underneath the cookie sheet to protect my dining room table.)
  4. Drape your material over the form-for-gauzy-ghostform and play with it until you’re satisfied with how it looks, then cut the excess material off.
  5. Take your cookie sheet (with the form on it) outside, and spray the material until it’s saturated. Bring it back inside and let it dry. I’m impatient, so I carefully used my hair dryer (lowest speed, highest heat) to speed up the process a little. Depending on your material, you may need to repeat this step. I sprayed mine twice, and let it finish drying all day.
  6. While you’re waiting, cut out two eyes from the black construction paper, and the banner from the orange construction paper. (Or whatever color you prefer.) I spelled out “BOO” for my banner.
  7. Once your ghost is completely dry, you can trim any loose ends from the material. Then carefully remove the ghost from the form.
  8. Drape the kitchen twine from one arm of the ghost to the other, and cut the twine. Use super glue to attach the banner to the twine, the twine to the arms, and the eyes to the ghost. Let it dry completely before moving it.

Update: I do recommend using the liquid starch rather than the spray starch. My ghost held up through Halloween and kept its shape, but I did notice he was getting just a little droopy toward the end. 

gauzy-ghost
This is him, drying. He was so cute, I couldn’t resist snapping a picture!
I thought it would be fun if my ghost would glow in the dark, so I grabbed a light that I bought last Halloween, and placed it under the ghost.

gauzy-ghost-diy-from-holiday-housewife
daytime

glow-in-th-dark-gauzy-ghost-holiday-housewife
nighttime
So cute, right?

I think I’m going to make some friends for him this weekend.

gauzy-ghost-diy-holiday-housewife

signature

2 thoughts on “Gauzy Ghost DIY

Leave a Reply

